On Growing Up a Token, Being Told I Wasn’t Enough, and Owning Who I Am

I grew up in a tiny Midwest town. And yes, I do mean tiny.

Population: 3,000.

We had one elementary school. We shared our middle and high school with 3 other towns. It was the Midwest- this was normal. We had school buses that came to pick us up. We lived on back roads and in forests.

But anyways, 3,000 people.

My elementary school year had a little less than 100. Everyone knew everyone.

There were four other people of color in my grade. A girl adopted from China. Two black kids from the city. And my best friend, an Iranian everyone thought was white.

I am biracial. I am Chinese and Irish.

I was considered extremely Asian. I was the Asian.

I was fine with that. I was Cho Chang. I was Mulan.

I dressed up as Mulan for Halloween two years in a row- once as the male dressed, fighting one, and once in the dress she wears to meet the matchmaker (love that dress man).

This was all fine to me. I like my heritage. I like owning it. And yeah, they didn’t give me a choice, but that’s fine too.

Sometimes it was annoying. I’m more than just Asian.

But generally it was fine.

Then I moved to California.

Newsflash: there are a lot of people of color in California.

I got told I wasn’t Asian enough to consider myself Asian.

(I am 50% Chinese. What is enough?)

I was not enough. I was just some stupid white girl pretending. I think my favorite thing I got called was Fasian (fake-Asian). And well, no one ever said I wasn’t adaptable.

So I adapted again. I owned my fake-Asian white girl-ness.

But I wasn’t happy.

This wasn’t who I was.

A couple months ago I moved to Arizona.

I still constantly feel the need to justify my ethnicity to people. I feel the need to constantly make comments about the fact that I am Asian, despite what people say.

But now my friends just laugh. They comment on the fact that they never would’ve assumed I was anything but Asian.

And I’m happy.

Leave a comment